Yesterday, SnapChat added a couple of features to its iOS app and tweaked one or two already-existing ones—including an update to one of its most controversial recent additions.
Earlier this year, we discussed how SnapChat’s new Snap Map could breach your child’s privacy and put them in danger. When the app rolled out this feature, they did at least include an option called Ghost Mode, which, when turned on, disabled live location sharing from even your closest friends.
Now, they’re going one better. They’re allowing users to flip into Ghost Mode for just a few hours, or even a whole day, instead of turning it permanently on or off.
Of course, in terms of privacy this is a positive move. While the privacy-conscious will of course recommend that users flip Ghost Mode on permanently, those who love to connect via SnapMap will be able to turn the feature on and off as necessary, keeping their location hidden when they need to.
One issue with Snap Map still remains, however. This feature is still hidden behind the in-app camera, and is only accessible using the the two-finger pinch-to-zoom motion on Snapchat’s main screen, meaining that many users may forget that it is on, or forget that it exists at all.
While SnapChat could further improve Snap Map’s privacy by bringing the feature to the fore, it’s at least good to see them improving choice for their users.